… or at least I believe so. Going through a bad romantic stretch, one would think that the last thing one would need is a film with a romantic-based plot. How wrong could you be! For a sad 20 year old, watching a film about strong independent 40-something women finding love and having trouble getting there is wonderful!

I hate being sad, and I have made a pact with myself that I shall be sad no longer, as it sucks ass and I would much rather be happy. Relationships are strange – when you are with someone you love you will overlook problems and be blind to things that threaten the steadfastness of the relationship. And of course break ups are hard and sad – and everyone will tell you they should be, but should they really? My Guy is my best friend, he was before we got together, and we still get on well, just we are going to have to find our feet in a purely platonic relationship with no sexy happenings. We have a shared love of House and Hugh Laurie (though not for the same reasons…) and we live in an awesome flat together. I have read that the sulking/recovery period for a relationship is a third of the amount of time you were together, thus I am obliged to mope around for a year. A year? I was mopey for four days and I couldn’t take it. Sod that.

In my abnormal (so my mother tells me) brain, my logic is that if me and my guy, who is a wonderful, kind and sexy man, were not meant to end up together forever, then there must be some truly amazing hunk of a man out there waiting for me somewhere. Who loves going for beach walks and animals and who I feel 100% comfortable waiting around in a train station with and will do for the rest of my life. I don’t need to be sad, because although the relationship is over, I have got so much out of it that it doesn’t matter. It is hard to put into words, and it sounds lame on screen, but I just feel that there is a whole world of possibilities out there for me, and I can do whatever I want because I am who I am and like Sex and the City has taught us, the right man/woman for you is worth waiting for and if Carrie finds her man in her forties, I have no need to worry because I can too.

I am in a world of positivity at the moment, and am testing it by coming back home to where I live with The Guy. What will happen? It’s like TV show. You’ll have to stay tuned to find out.

Methods to enhance positivity and good feelings in Faeriedaughter;

  • Listening and dancing to Jamiroquai. A lot.
  • Going for long nature walks dancing to said Jamiroquai and Scissor Sisters
  • A constant supply of House and Charmed DVDs
  • Bellydancing
  • Singing very loudly along to Amy Winehouse
  • Access to a well stocked library with a complete collection of Terry Pratchett books
  • Going to the cinema a lot. Nothing kicks ass like the cinema.
  • An active fantasy life revolving around Sean Bean and Hugh Laurie….

Over and out.

